harpcolumn

Your tips to a newcomer

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Your tips to a newcomer

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    zgreyestjedi
    Participant

Hello,

I am relatively new to playing the harp, and unfortunately, I am having an issue finding an instructor near me. I was curious as to what you guys would recommend for a beginner, whether it is a book, youtube videos, or just lessons you’ve learned from an instructor you’d like to share!

I would love to hear anything you have to recommend to a newcomer.

I personally have a small 19 string lap harp that I bought a couple of months ago. I already have been exposed to music and can already read music, however, I am still slowly progressing through Sylvia Woods’ Teach Yourself to Play the Folk Harp (Because that was the book that came with the small 19 string harp I bought).

Thank you all in advance for any advice/resources you can offer!!!!

charles-nix
    Participant

Especially at the beginning, you need an instructor. Hand and finger position is everything when making sound on a harp. Small differences make a major difference in sound. I don’t think most people will learn the right habits from a book alone. It is critical to learn hand, finger, (and thumb!) position correctly right now from the first, or you will be fighting over and over to unlearn and relearn when you start using three-finger placements, and then again with four-finger placements, and then again with scales. Much easier to drive a couple of hours and learn it right from the start. You will spend much less time overall and will enjoy it more. You can progress quickly if you already read music. (Source-personal experience, watching many other beginners start without a teacher. My community has gone for years at a time without anyone in the area in the past.)