harpcolumn

Which lever for which tone?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Which lever for which tone?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    evolene_t
    Participant

Good morning everyone,

I apologise if a similar topic has already been created before but I haven’t found anything in the archives.

I am very new at the harp, and I intend to practice in particular the Celtic harp for Celtic songs, having grown up hearing this in Brittany (France). Hence, this topic concerns only the lever harps although I suppose we could give informations about the pedal harp here as well.

I wonder if we could do a compilation of which levers to flip when we want to reach a particular tone.
    What I mean by tone is : “an accent peculiar to a person, people, locality, etc., or a characteristic mode of sounding words in speech.” (Definition by Dictionary.com). Perhaps this is not the correct word used in music in English, you’ll have to forgive my lack of knowledge there as I study music in French.

So, for example, flipping up the E (mi), A (la) and B (ti) levers and leaving the other levers down gives us the range in C major (gamme en do majeur). The C major is used for most children’s song and standard music.

I know however that some ranges correspond with particular music styles. In your opinion, what would be the best tone for medieval music? For Irish celtic music? Bolivian harp music? Latino? Asian-style (shamisen) music?
    And which levers would you need to flip to get there?