harpcolumn

When YOU build a harp…

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break When YOU build a harp…

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    goatberryfarm2010
    Participant

I’m amazed & quite curious about those who’ve built their own harps! (Biagio, I’m thinking of you!) I suspect there are others, too; please come in!
    Have you been a professional wood worker as well as a pro harpist? (I’m so fascinated by wood & the pre-electric tools, altho I have no objection to them.)
    What drew you into this adventure? Please tell us all about it!

goatberryfarm2010
    Participant

Please forgive my lack of editing, above. I was writing in the wee hours of the morning.
    I’ll try to recall how to edit, after sleeping.

Biagio
    Participant

Hi Jennifer,

OK, here’s my tale and a few others whom I know.

I was a finance manager and, earlier, Intelligence officer. Retired early and while rebuilding a cabin in the mountains started making musical instruments during the winter to pass the time. Just a hobby as many do around there; one day I decided to make a harp, did tons of research, and got hooked. Same sort of story of many I know from many backgrounds. For instance:

David Thoramahlen (geology student), Ray Mooers (densitry I think), Marco Paganni (Italy, mathmatician and teacher), Mark Blessley (doctor), Rick Kemper (engineer)James Skeen (statistician)…what we all have in common is that we were curious and fell in love with the harp, and decided to make one rather than buy it.

In some cases back in the 1970s making it was about the only option at least in the US.

I can only think of a handful who were both professional harp makers AND harpists: Alan Stivell, Chris Caswell, Melville Clark, Timothy Habinski, Carl Swanson (on this list).