harpcolumn

Triplett Eclipse vs. Dusty 36S

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Triplett Eclipse vs. Dusty 36S

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    maya-erickson
    Participant

Hello,

I have been playing for a few months now, and decided I am ready to invest in a large lever harp. However, I am stuck between the Dusty Strings 36S and the Triplett Eclipse. I had the chance to play them both at Harps Etc. in Walnut Creek, and they were both beautiful looking and sounding. Does anyone have advice on which to invest in? Pros and cons? I would be very grateful!

-Maya

daniele-di
    Participant

Hello Maya,

I never tried the Triplett Exlipse, but I have an FH36S and it`s beautiful! but be aware that the wood makes an huge difference, I really didn`t liked the maple one, sounded so different from the Bubinga one (which is also more expensive)
    Another wood I loved was the KOA, but I only found an FH34 made with that wood

jessica-wolff
    Participant

I sorta remember Dusty Strings as being brighter in tone and Tripletts in general as more mellow.

diana-lincoln
    Participant

Make sure you have someone play them both for you to hear. That might help you chose. You can order the Dusty in any wood you want and the wood does make a world of difference. You won’t be sorry with koa or bubinga.

Good luck!

Diana L.

rosey-brumm
    Participant

I have had both and many harps in each range. I think both are very good harps and makers. The Eclipse 38 is a much bigger harp and of course wood matters with weight and sound, mine is in Bubinga and extremely heavy but beautiful voice with a full electro acoustic system. If you want to take it with you I would suggest you look look at the Signature model.