harpcolumn

Need help finding a harp on a budget!

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Need help finding a harp on a budget!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    Natalya Zarraga
    Participant

Hi everyone! I’ve been researching harps for a month or so, since I recently have decided (I was always interested, though) that I really want to take up the harp – lever harp, specifically. I’m already a self-taught pianist and singer-songwriter and am currently learning guitar. A harp would be such a wonderful addition to my small collection of instruments (mostly used, haha). I would really like to get good enough to take it to shows at some point, and record and write original music on it as well as play many genres like folk, rock (Harptallica, anyone? :P), and some pop music.

Unfortunately I am not very well-off (yay for being a poor college student), and my budget is around $1000. I really want to try to get a harp for under that, or around it if I have no other option. I’m probably going to teach myself since there’s a good chance I can’t afford lessons, and if I find enough resources I’ll probably be okay on my own for a while. I’ve thought about renting, but that option still seems kind of mystifying.

I have learned a lot, but this search still proves to be very baffling. I do know that I want a harp that’s at LEAST 26 strings (but I would prefer more), has some kind of lever configuration or the ability to add levers later with the holes pre-drilled or something, and has good bass range. Lower notes are really important to me. I’m used to pounding on the lower registers of the piano and it would be hard to not go any lower than the C below middle C.