harpcolumn

Looking for advice in buying a harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Looking for advice in buying a harp

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    redeagler
    Participant

Hi im new to this site and am looking for advice on buying my first harp. I am looking to buy a lever harp (celtic) with atleast 34 strings. I have learned that I really really like lower somber sounding harps (i think this is known as being warm sounding?) and was wondering if anyone of you could recommend any harps that are like this and have good resonance. I have been looking at lyon and healy’s ogden lately but im a newbie at this and really don’t know much.

*an additional note* I am looking to buy a good harp that could last me the rest of my life should I never upgrade to a pedal harp, so price isn’t really an issue.

thank you
    Joseph

• This topic was modified 5 years, 8 months ago by redeagler.

Question; if money is not a hindrance, would you like a harp that you will be able to carry and transport even in later years? Important point to consider

I feel in love with Heartland harps recently at a conference. Pricey, however gorgeous tone, EXTREMELY LIGHTWEIGHT and DURABLE. https://heartlandharps.com/harps/models/.

I also recommend Lyon & Healy Ogden and Troubadour. However the Troubadour was too heavy for me to cart and carry with me. I am fond of Concert Tension (higher tension) strings so these resonated with me.

Biagio
    Participant

One question that would help in answering: where do you live? There are excellent lever harps made in several countries but shipping from one to another can add significantly to the total cost. That said, aside from those already mentioned I’d suggest you look at

-In the US Triplett, Thormahlen, Rees, and Dusty Strings
    -In Europe Camac, Salvi and Teifi