harpcolumn

Keeping my young harpist motivated

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Young Harpists Keeping my young harpist motivated

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    MusicMom
    Participant

I’m new to both music and the board, but find this such a welcoming group. I hope my question is posted in the right place!

My daughter requested to play the harp at 6 years old after seeing and hearing a harp on a Baby Einstein video when she was younger. I tried to encourage her to take piano lessons first, but she absolutely insisted on playing the harp. So here we are, a non-musically inclined mom and a just-turned 7 year old with a few months of lessons under our belts.

During weekly 30 minutes lessons, she is totally engaged and does everything her teacher asks her to do. She even has a smile on her face the entire time, so I know she is enjoying herself. Practicing at home is a whole other matter. Most times she is willing to practice, but somehow we both end up frustrated by the end. I don’t think I am being too hard on her, but I try to help her practice a piece more than once. I don’t see myself as doing anything different than what her teacher asks her to do, but of course it’s different.

Any suggestions to make practice sessions at home go a little smoother and keep her motivated? She tried to quit at one point, but I really think she said it out of frustration. (After a great lesson with her teacher, she enthusiastically said she wanted to keep playing.) Since she initially requested to play and otherwise seems to enjoy it, I want this to be as fun as possible with the hopes that she will stick with it.

unknown-user
    Participant

I never practiced without my parents making me until maybe 12 years old, and even at that I did not practice for more than an hour a day, if that.