harpcolumn

Harping as a Mom

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Harping as a Mom

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Hannah White
    Participant

Hello harp world! I am a new mom and would appreciate tips and insights on how you squeeze in harp practice etc. without having as much dedicated free time to do so!

Gretchen Cover
    Participant

Hannah, many congratulations on becoming a new mother. Check out the latest issue of Harp Column for the article Balancing Act by Megan Metheney and/or listen to the Megan Metheney Podcast #23.

Hannah White
    Participant

Thank you! Found it and giving it a listen.

balfour-knight
    Participant

This is a wonderful article! I don’t know how you moms do it! Congratulations to all of you!

OK. So, I’m really new at the mom thing, too. My girl is just over 6 months. Then first few months, I got nothing done. Then once they start sleeping a little longer, you can get them to bed around 7 or 8 and have a few hours. I don’t always use them for practice, but I try to.

Are you staying home or working? I can put the portable play yard next to the harp since she is now mobile and will get into trouble unless supervised. If she’s in the play yard, I can get about 20 minutes here and there before she gets bored.

Do you live with someone who can take the baby for a half hour once a day? You’ll be surprised how much you can get done when you plan a little ahead what you want to practice.

She takes longer naps now, so I can practice then, too. It’s not the same hour and a half of time I used to have, but it’s something…

Congrats!

balfour-knight
    Participant