harpcolumn

Harping and Motherhood

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Harping and Motherhood

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    sarah-mullen–2
    Participant

I’m a full time harpist and new mother. I’ve found that both performing while pregnant and performing with an infant come with certain challenges that may be particularly tricky for harpists. The majority of us are women, so it stands to reason that a fair number of us must have had to juggle motherhood and harping, but I couldn’t find any threads on the topic. I wanted to create a thread where we could share stories and advice for managing a career as a musician with children. I’m new to this, and I’m sure it will only get harder as my daughter grows (right now she stays put when you put her down, which is convenient) so I welcome any and all advice from my fellow harpists. Here are a few things I’ve found so far.

Pregnancy advice columns and books are full of great advice for working mothers that is no help at all to harpists. For example, when working in the third trimester they recommend that you put your feet up while at work to help with back pain and swollen ankles. Not really an option for harpists. You’re not supposed to lift anything over 25 pounds late in a pregnancy. Every piece of performance gear I own weighs that much or more! I suppose my chair weighs less. Pregnancy advice tends to assume that all working mothers have desk jobs.