harpcolumn

Future harpest who's blind.

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Future harpest who's blind.

Tagged: ,

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 57 total)
  • Author
    CelticKnot
    Participant

So, I’m new at all this music stuff and practically know nothing. Lol. : I have lots of questions, but today I’m focusing on blind harp players, as I’m completely blind. I can forsee some challenges in learning to play the harp, but I’m sure I’ll figure things out eventually. 🙂 D

Firstly, I’m looking at getting a Dusty Strings FH 34 in walnut. I really, really liked the sound of their walnut harps–I like a warmer, mellower sound, and the FH 34 fit the bill! I’m sure I’ll go back to Harps ETC (my nearest harp store) and look at other models, but the FH 34 really spoke to me. Note that I could only try out the FH 26 in the FH line, because Harps ETC doesn’t stock the FH 34. I really liked the sound of the FH 26, though, and don’t think that would change on hearing the FH 34.

Anyhow, I have some questions.
    1. Are there any blind harpests on this forum? If so, any advice? Advice is welcome from sighted harpests, too, as the more discussion, especially of possible snags I might hit, the better.

2. Is it harpest or harper? Lol!

3. How do blind players figure out which leaver goes with which string, especially while playing? I know about leaver rings and caps, and I think they’d help somewhat, especially for finding C’s, but I was having major trouble following the string up to the leaver. Once I got to the neck, keeping my finger on the string and not getting confused by all the metal stuff near it was challenging. Also, because of the leaver mechanism–I’m assuming–things get kind of cramped for fingers.