harpcolumn

Cracking Strings

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Cracking Strings

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Sidney Dharmavaram
    Participant

Why do you think this string is cracking so easily (video link below)? I’ve certainly seen strings do this, but not 100%. Every single bend I make in trying the knot cracks. I’ve never experienced this so bad and I’ve been playing the harp for 21 years. This string was shipped to me from a retailer one month ago. Is it a bad string? Or could it dry out that fast? I have no idea about the humidity in the harp room because it’s a university instrument. I just requested someone look at the humidity in the duct work and make sure it is functioning right.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1mEJ_go31jTP1UUqk_PBwpXkF4VwsWc5X

Sylvia
    Participant

Is it Bow Brand gut? Which string is it? I’m guessing it’s 5th octave. I sent two 5A back to LH because of that. The first one, I finally got a knot in it, and when I tried to bring it to pitch, it broke…at the top. The 2nd one, I struggled toooo long trying to get a knot in it bec like you said, the string cracked at every bend. I gave up and sent that back also.
    I got a Premier from Atlanta Harp Co., but as someone else said, the lengths are very short. I play a 15, and I could barely reach. I wrote them twice because they seemed to think it was only that string, but others had complained about that. I told them I didn’t see how anyone with a bigger harp could even use them. So if your harp is bigger than a 15, be aware that the Premier might be too short. It didn’t crack, tho, and it’s on there now, doing fine.

Sidney Dharmavaram
    Participant