harpcolumn

Another Lap Harp Dilemma

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Another Lap Harp Dilemma

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    annagrace
    Participant

Firstly I would like to apologize for starting another ”which harp” thread, as I have read quite a few in the last couple of weeks.

I was looking at the Limerick Harp Kit ( which has to be imported from the US, I am in the UK)
    County Kerry 24 by Noteworthy
    Salvi Juno 25 ( found one from a website called Thomann?)

I need something REALLY small for traveling. I am away from home for 4 months every year and it has to fly across the world with me with with multiple airline changes.

I also considered a Harpsicle, but it seems to be the tallest of the lot. (I know it’s an awful thing to be choosing by the size).

I am a complete beginner and would have rather preferred a 34 string floor harp, but we might have to move from our current address and then I would not be able to take it with, unless it is REALLY portable as we might be moving internationally.

It is really hard to find a small harp in the UK (also because most are imported and for example County Kerry 24 is sold here for 1200-1500 GBP).

I will be leaving again in 5 months, so even renting is an issue with many places offering 12 month contracts and then I will have to leave it for 4 months… with current uncertain future I cant commit to a lengthy contract but would rather buy something small.

I hope the above makes sense…

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, other than to give it up, which might be the only sensible one, but who wants the sensible advice anyway? 🙂