harpcolumn

A pedal harp that sounds like most like a celtic??

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories A pedal harp that sounds like most like a celtic??

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    jinjit82
    Participant

Hey Harpists!
    I know this is an odd question, but I’m wondering if there is a pedal harp that has a tone and “heavenly” sound similar to a Celtic harp: i.e. always sounds warm and beautiful even when messing around, with never with a harsh, brassy, or tinny quality.

I’ve been playing a Salvi Daphne semi-grand so far for 2 years on rental, and I really like the sound, but I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the sound when I practice certain pieces on Celtic harps. Using a semi-grand or grand pedal harp is non-negotiable for me. However, I was wondering if, AMONG the pedal harps, there is any particular brand or style that most closely mimics the sound of a Celtic harp. Thanks in Advance!!!
    Adina

jinjit82
    Participant

Sorry, I just wanted to add, that by adding the sounds that I don’t want (ie tinny) I do not at all mean to insult pedal harps by any means. It is due to my limited music vocab, so it’s easier for me to describe by what Celtic harps don’t have than by what they do.

wil-weten
    Participant

I am trying to understand what you mean. I wonder if your question has something to do with string tension.

Lever harps tend to have lower string tension, which means that a string sounds longer when attacked with the same force then when a string of a harp with higher string tension is plucked.

Gretchen Cover
    Participant