harpcolumn

Terrible fingers!

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Terrible fingers!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Chloe C-K

I’ve been playing the harp for 11 years and my fingers still are very soft, blister very easily and often start bleed. I practise regularly, normally around two hours per day at least 5 days per week. I’ve tried using surgical spirit to no avail and was hoping someone might have a solution?

Angela Biggs

Have you tried myrrh? I’ve heard it can be used to help your fingers, though I’ve only used it once, so I can’t tell you how effective it really is.

balfour-knight
    Participant

Chloe, I always use Aloe Vera, either from the live plant, or from a bottled source. Check at your local health-food store for the gel. It is natural and amazing!

Angela Biggs

If you want to try aloe gel, you can make your own to get 100% natural ingredients. Add 1/2 tsp xanthan gum to 1 c. pure aloe juice or aloe water (aloe comes from the plant as a gel but quickly becomes a liquid; if you buy gel at the store it will always have additives).

balfour-knight
    Participant

Angela, that sounds good, and also the myrrh. I just cut off thin slices of an Aloe leaf as I need it, to apply the REAL THING directly to my fingers. I keep scissors handy and just take it off the plant in small “chunks” which I open up to get to the gel. It is also great for bruises, sun-burn, and all sorts of “ailments.” Thanks, Balfour