harpcolumn

Suggestions for what to put under the harp when playing outside?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Suggestions for what to put under the harp when playing outside?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Elizabeth Webb
    Participant

I have been gigging for quite a few years but never found something I am really happy with for putting under the harp when I have to play on grass, gravel, or other non-harp-friendly surfaces. Sometimes the ground is wet, sometimes it is uneven, and sometimes it’s an all out mess.

I want to get something or some things that I can keep in the car (or garage if they are too big to always have with me) that will work in each of the various common situations (grass, sand, gravel, soft loose dirt).

What do you use, and where do you suggest buying it?

catherine-rogers
    Participant

Years ago we bought a piece of 3/4 inch plywood that is 3 ft. by 4 ft. We covered it completely (both sides, all edges) with green astro-turf which can be swept off or hosed off if needed. The harp, bench and I just fit on this (it’s a tight fit); it is the largest size that would fit in my original van; I could carry a longer one now but this suffices. It stays in the van all the time. If it were longer it might be too difficult to move.

I have put it down on dirt, pinestraw, gravel, etc. You do still need to find a level place to put it because you don’t want the harp to feel like it’s falling on you or away from you. I can roll the carted harp up on it to unload the harp. I tuck the bench behind the harp if I’m not there to keep it from tipping, just in case; a wise precaution anytime you’re outdoors, regardless of the surface.