harpcolumn

Spare Strings

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Spare Strings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Hi everyone – my daughter has been playing the harp socially for a few years now, and if she ever broke a string, she would buy one from her harp teacher then next time she saw her.

She is now starting to play at weddings and events, and so a broken string needs to be replaced more urgently. Sometimes at an event!

My question is – do you guys keep a full set of strings? My daughter has a 34-string Salvi lever harp. A full set would be quite an expensive investment for her at this time.

Or could you buy a subset? I have little musical knowledge, but it looks to me like several groups of strings look as if they are the same diameter, but I guess they are tightened more to create the different notes – so she might only need 1 or 2 nylon, 1 or 2 gut, and 1 or 2 wire, to be able to replace any string in an emergency.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Chris Smith

I was advised by my teacher to always carry a “skeleton” amount of spare harp strings whenever I took my pedal harp out to play somewhere. That meant every red C and every black F, as well as each E and each A needed on my harp. Each E could substitute for a broken D if needed, and each spare A could be used for a broken G or B if necessary.

Biagio
    Participant

Most harps have identical diameters here and there within the range so in general I’d say “Yes she can; it is not necessary to buy a full set.” Furthermore, in an emergency one can substitute a diameter (size) that is “close” IF it is long enough.