harpcolumn

Need Insights on music by Bernard Andres and Frank Voltz

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Need Insights on music by Bernard Andres and Frank Voltz

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Jodi Ann Tolman
    Participant

I’ve been playing the harp now for 6 months (36 string lever), and am looking to buy some new music. I’ve heard wonderful things about Bernard Andres and have viewed several sample pages online from various works of his, but I’m wondering if anyone can give me a better idea about the relative skill level needed for some of his pieces. Specifically, I’m interested in:

1. Charades
    2. Ribambelle
    3. La Gimblette

I can’t find anything other than two sample pages from Charades, but I’m wondering if Charades would be a good book for developing new skills and helping me progress.

From what I’ve been able to listen to online from YouTube videos, Ribambelle sounds like certain songs might be too easy for me, but I’ve heard a couple clips that make it sound too advanced, so I just can’t decide if it would be a good purchase for me.

Looking and listening to La Gimblette makes me think it might be the most difficult. Is this true? I don’t have experience with four-note chords which this seems to have. Would this be a good piece to get me started with four-note chords, or is this one probably too difficult?

I’m also interested in some music by Frank Voltz, but again, I’m having a hard time determining if it would be too difficult for me since I can only view one sample page. I’m particularly interested in:

1. Celestial
    2. Dreaming of You