harpcolumn

grade 2 piano first

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp grade 2 piano first

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Alison
    Participant

If a prospective pupil has progressed with the piano first what are the motor skills which might cause obstacles when moving onto the harp. Do you think the lever harp is a retrograde step for a 5 foot grade 2 pianist ? I would ……. I can probably work this out for myself but interested in your experiences.

Not using all five fingers would be an adjustment, as well as just not being at the level you want to be at on a new instrument. As a pianist, I can sight-read beginner harp music trivially, and this will probably make me want to rush more than I should, and hence not develop the fundamentals of technique that I will need. I’d recommend exercises and etudes, possibly more than pieces.

It’s also tempting to want to play pianistic music on a harp, but the fact that there are no dampers on the strings makes that really problematic. What works in the bass on a piano will sound like mud on a harp. A pianist would need to exert real effort to keep aware that this thing isn’t just piano innards turned on its side but a different device with different “sweet spots.” So I think most of your main obstacles will be getting this pupil to slow down, to grasp that they ARE a beginner even if the music looks brainlessly easy to them, and to grasp the instrument’s unique quirks apart from a piano.

Also, I am a bit jittery about the prospect of developing calluses. 🙂 Your pupil may be concerned about this as well.

Gretchen Cover
    Participant